A Brief History of Time

  • Par Stephen Hawking
  • Lu par Michael Jackson
  • 5 h 50 min
  • Version intégrale | Livre audio

Résumé de l'éditeur

This landmark book is for those of us who prefer words to equations; this is the story of the ultimate quest for knowledge, the ongoing search for the secrets at the heart of time and space. Its author, Stephen W. Hawking, is arguably the greatest mind since Einstein. From the vantage point of the wheelchair, where he has spent the last 20 years trapped by Lou Gehrig's disease, Professor Hawking has transformed our view of the universe. A Brief History of Time is Hawking's classic introduction to today's most important scientific ideas about the cosmos. It is read here by the Emmy Award-winning host of The Michael Jackson Show on KABC-TV.


Commentaire de l'équipe Audible

I know my fair share of science from a couple of courses I took in school, but Professor Hawking really got me thinking when he asked me to stew over this question: what do we really know about the universe? This spawns another question: was God forced to create the Universe? Tough issues to deal with in a book! Have no fear, though, we have one of the most brilliant minds, who heads up a post at Cambridge once headed by Newton himself, to guide us through history, from the Greeks, to Copernicus, to recent discoveries. (Tony H.)


La voix des critiques

"A masterful summary of what physicists now think the world is made of and how it got that way." ( The Wall Street Journal)"Lively and provocative, Hawking clearly possesses a natural teacher's gift, easy, good-natured humor, and an ability to illustrate highly complex propositions with analogies plucked from daily life." ( The New York Times)


Afficher des titres similaires

Commentaires clients

Les plus utiles

Great book, poorly read

This a great book and you should hear it. But the reader "swallows" a lot and make funny annoying noises.... His voice is clear and good though.
Lire l'intégralité du commentaire

- Romain

Détails du livre audio

  • Date de publication : 01-05-2012
  • Éditeur : Phoenix Books