Too Much Happiness

  • Par Alice Munro
  • Lu par Kimberly Farr, Arthur Morey
  • 11 h 44 min
  • Version intégrale | Livre audio

Résumé de l'éditeur

Ten superb new stories by one of our most beloved and admired writers - the winner of the 2009 Man Booker International Prize.In the first story, a young wife and mother receives release from the unbearable pain of losing her three children from a most surprising source. In another, a young woman, in the aftermath of an unusual and humiliating seduction, reacts in a clever, if less than admirable, fashion.Other stories uncover the "deep holes" in a marriage, the unsuspected cruelty of children, and how a boy's disfigured face provides both the good things in his life and the bad. And in the long title story, we accompany Sophia Kovalevsky - a late-19th-century Russian émigré and mathematician - on a winter journey that takes her from the Riviera, where she visits her lover, to Paris, Germany, and Denmark, where she has a fateful meeting with a local doctor, and finally to Sweden, where she teaches at the only university in Europe willing to employ a female mathematician.With clarity and ease, Alice Munro once again renders complex, difficult events and emotions into stories that shed light on the unpredictable ways in which men and women accommodate and often transcend what happens in their lives.Too Much Happiness is a compelling, provocative - even daring - collection.


Afficher des titres similaires

Commentaires clients

Les plus utiles

Pourquoi 3 étoiles seulement à l'histoire ?

Pourquoi 3 étoiles seulement à l'histoire ?
Parce que le sujet est un peu déprimant. Des nouvelles qui alignent les faits divers, une écriture "terroriste" avec l'annonce d'évènements glauques sans aucune émotion. C'est surtout dur pendant les premières nouvelles.
Cependant, le livre est remarquablement écrit, le style varie d'une nouvelle à l'autre. Sous des airs de simplicité, la plume est de grande qualité.
L'histoire est très bien lue par plusieurs narrateurs.
L'anglais est parfaitement intelligible pour un francophone.
Si vous êtes déprimé, passez votre chemin, mais pour les autres, je recommande cet enregistrement.
Lire l'intégralité du commentaire

- ath

Détails du livre audio

  • Date de publication : 17-11-2009
  • Éditeur : Random House Audio