• Creativity, Inc.

  • Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration
  • De : Ed Catmull, Amy Wallace
  • Lu par : Peter Altschuler
  • Durée : 12 h et 52 min
  • Version intégrale Livre audio
  • Date de publication : 08/04/2014
  • Langue : Anglais
  • Éditeur : Random House Audio
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars 4,6 (20 notations)

Description

From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business - sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath.
Creativity, Inc. is a book for managers who want to lead their employees to new heights, a manual for anyone who strives for originality, and the first-ever, all-access trip into the nerve center of Pixar Animation - into the meetings, postmortems, and "Braintrust" sessions where some of the most successful films in history are made. It is, at heart, a book about how to build a creative culture - but it is also, as Pixar co-founder and president Ed Catmull writes, "an expression of the ideas that I believe make the best in us possible."
For nearly 20 years, Pixar has dominated the world of animation, producing such beloved films as the Toy Story trilogy, Monsters, Inc., Finding Nemo, The Incredibles, Up, and WALL-E, which have gone on to set box-office records and garner 30 Academy Awards. The joyousness of the storytelling, the inventive plots, the emotional authenticity: In some ways, Pixar movies are an object lesson in what creativity really is. Here, in this book, Catmull reveals the ideals and techniques that have made Pixar so widely admired - and so profitable.
As a young man, Ed Catmull had a dream: to make the first computer-animated movie. He nurtured that dream as a PhD student at the University of Utah, where many computer science pioneers got their start, and then forged a partnership with George Lucas that led, indirectly, to his founding Pixar with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter in 1986. Nine years later, Toy Story was released, changing animation forever. The essential ingredient in that movie’s success - and in the 13 movies that followed - was the unique environment that Catmull and his colleagues built at Pixar, based on philosophies that protect the creative process and defy convention, such as:


Give a good idea to a mediocre team, and they will screw it up. But give a mediocre idea to a great team, and they will either fix it or come up with something better.
If you don’t strive to uncover what is unseen and understand its nature, you will be ill prepared to lead.
It’s not the manager’s job to prevent risks. It’s the manager’s job to make it safe for others to take them.
The cost of preventing errors is often far greater than the cost of fixing them.
A company’s communication structure should not mirror its organizational structure. Everybody should be able to talk to anybody.
Do not assume that general agreement will lead to change - it takes substantial energy to move a group, even when all are on board.
©2014 Ed Catmull and Amy Wallace (P)2014 Random House Audio
Afficher plus Afficher moins

Critiques

"Many have attempted to formulate and categorize inspiration and creativity. What Ed Catmull shares instead is his astute experience that creativity isn’t strictly a well of ideas, but an alchemy of people. In Creativity, Inc. Ed reveals, with commonsense specificity and honesty, examples of how not to get in your own way and how to realize a creative coalescence of art, business, and innovation." (George Lucas)
"Business gurus love to tell stories about Pixar, but this is our first chance to hear the real story from someone who lived it and led it. Everyone interested in managing innovation - or just good managing - needs to read this book." (Chip Heath, co-author of Switch and Decisive)
Afficher plus Afficher moins

Prix : 21,53 €

Détails de l'abonnement : Détails de l'abonnement :
  • Gratuit pendant 30 jours, avec un titre au choix offert.
  • 9,95 € par mois pour le livre audio de votre choix, quel que soit le prix.
  • Vous n'aimez pas un titre ? Échangez-le.
  • Résiliez à tout moment, vos livres audio vous appartiennent.

Acheter maintenant avec 1 crédit audio

En finalisant votre achat, vous acceptez les Conditions d'Utilisation . Veuillez prendre connaissance de notre Politique de Confidentialité et de notre Politiques sur la Publicité et les Cookies.

Acheter maintenant pour 21,53 €

Utilser la carte qui se termine par
En finalisant votre achat, vous acceptez les Conditions d'Utilisation . Veuillez prendre connaissance de notre Politique de Confidentialité et de notre Politiques sur la Publicité et les Cookies.

En finalisant votre achat, vous acceptez les Conditions d'Utilisation . Veuillez prendre connaissance de notre Politique de Confidentialité et de notre Politiques sur la Publicité et les Cookies.

Avis des auditeurs

Plus utile
5 out of 5 stars
Auteur(s) : Solène Chartier le 10/11/2015

A gold mine

Recommanderiez-vous ce livre audio à un ami ? Expliquez pourquoi.

I can't believe I haven't read/listen to that book before, the insights are amazing, it is such a great book. It gives so many tips and systems, and techniques around creative work & leadership.

Avec quel autre livre pouvez-vous comparer Creativity, Inc. ? Expliquez pourquoi.

the book from 99 u "making idea happens" is great too but far more complicated and a lot less wise

Qu'avez-vous aimé de la performance de Peter Altschuler ?

the voice is not monotone and it is easy to understand

Auriez-vous pu écouter ce livre audio en une seule fois ?

Nope, too long !! or I would have needed a whole day

Avez-vous d'autres commentaires ?

If you hesitate, then don't, buy it.

Lire la suite Masquer
4 out of 5 stars
Auteur(s) : Benjamin le 15/06/2015

Inspirant

Très bonne narration, claire et facile à comprendre.
L'histoire d'Ed Catmull et de Pixar est fascinante, bien que ce soit un ouvrage sur le management, il est beaucoup question de créativité, et des méthodes qui sont employées par les dirigeants du studio pour la protéger et la nourrir.
Tout créatif pourra en tirer quelques leçons !

Lire la suite Masquer
Afficher tous les commentaires