An Ember in the Ashes : An Ember in the Ashes

  • Par Sabaa Tahir
  • Lu par Fiona Hardingham, Steve West
  • Séries : An Ember in the Ashes
  • 15 h 22 min
  • Version intégrale | Livre audio

Résumé de l'éditeur

Set in a terrifyingly brutal Rome-like world, An Ember in the Ashes is an epic fantasy debut about an orphan fighting for her family and a soldier fighting for his freedom. It's a story that's literally burning to be told.
Laia is a Scholar living under the iron-fisted rule of the Martial Empire. When her brother is arrested for treason, Laia goes undercover as a slave at the empire's greatest military academy in exchange for assistance from rebel Scholars who claim they will help to save her brother from execution.
Elias is the academy's finest soldier - and secretly its most unwilling. Elias is considering deserting the military, but before he can, he's ordered to participate in a ruthless contest to choose the next Martial emperor.
When Laia and Elias' paths cross at the academy, they find that their destinies are more intertwined than either could have imagined and that their choices will change the future of the empire itself.


Commentaire de l'équipe Audible

Editors Select, April 2015 - Violence and secrecy allow for a startling and gripping start to Sabaa Tahir's debut novel An Ember in the Ashes. Tahir's YA epic fantasy tale has been receiving a lot of incredible advanced praise from some pretty impressive authors (such as Brandon Sanderson), I just had to see if it lived up to the hype. I was not disappointed. Tahir's original world-building matches the talent of seasoned authors, and the higher-stakes Romeo and Juliet narrative at the core of her book is heart-wrenching and captivating. Told from the alternating perspectives of Laia, an orphan on the run, and Elias, a soldier, An Ember in the Ashes fills a void in the YA fantasy canon we didn't know we had. —Katie, Audible Editor


Afficher des titres similaires

Commentaires clients

Aucune critique pour ce livre audio.

Détails du livre audio

  • Date de publication : 28-04-2015
  • Éditeur : Listening Library