An Instance of the Fingerpost

  • Par Iain Pears
  • Lu par Paul Michael
  • 5 h 58 min
  • Version abrégée | Livre audio

Résumé de l'éditeur

An utterly compelling historical mystery, in the tradition of Umberto Eco and John Fowles. The setting is England in the 1660s. Oliver Cromwell's short-lived republic is a thing of the past, and Charles II has been restored to the throne. At Oxford's New College, fellow Robert Grove is found dead under suspicious circumstances, and a young woman stands accused. We hear from four witnesses: a physician hungry for fame, the son of an alleged traitor, the king's chief cryptographer, and a renowned Oxford antiquarian - only one of whom is telling the rather extraordinary truth. Who is it? Pears' skillful plot-weaving will keep you guessing until the final seconds.

Plus

La voix des critiques

"Deftly plotted, briskly written...Iain Pears has brass and talent to spare." (Newsweek)

Plus

Afficher des titres similaires

Commentaires clients

Aucune critique pour ce livre audio.

Détails du livre audio

  • Date de publication : 14-03-2000
  • Éditeur : Macmillan Audio